Israel Figures
Independence declaired: 14 May 1948.
Capital: Jerusalem, but but most  countries still maintain their Embassies in Tel Aviv.

Flag: The colours blue and white were chosen according to the colours of the ‘Tallit’ – the Jewish prayer shawl.
The Star of David appearing in the center of the flag has been a Jewish symbol for hundreds of years.

State emblem: The official emblem of the State of Israel is the Menorah.

 Currency: The Israeli currency is the New Israeli Sheqel (NIS), which is divided into 100 agorot (as of January 1986).

Governing system: democratic - parliamentar

Legislative branch is the Knesset. The Knesset is the parliament of the State of Israel. It is located in Jerusalem, and has 120 members.

Executive branch includes the government and government ministries.

The judiciary includes the system of courts: the Supreme Court, the District Court, Magistrates Court, Court for Local Affairs, Religious Court.

 Area of the country: 22,072 sq. km. (as of 1967 including East Jerusalem and as of 1982 including the Golan Heights )

Lowest point: The Dead Sea - 423 m. below sea level. Highest point: Mount Hermon - 2,224 m.

Total Poplation on July 2012: 7,590,758
Ethnic Groups: Jewish 76.4% (of which Israel-born 67.1%, Europe / America-born 22.6%, Africa-born 5.9%, Asia-born 4.2%), non-Jewish 23.6% (mostly Arab).



Israel Gallery

Every place upon which the sole of your foot will tread I have given to you. JOSHUA (1:3)
 Dead Sea   Capernaum 
Dead Sea Jaffa  Capernaum  
Tel Aviv    Galilee 
  Tel Aviv   Jordan River Galilee
Megiddo Judea    Ibex 
Timna Park   
Timna Park  Caesarea - Roman Aqueduct  Akko (Old Acre)
Beit She'an    Lake Kinneret 
Beit She'an   Caves of Qumran  Lake Kinneret